Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

Full List

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ABI Inform Off-Campus Access
1971-present. Indexing and abstracts of U.S. and international journal articles on business and management. 2002 sources indexed. Some full text. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Abstracts in Anthropology (Online) Off-Campus Access
2001-. Provides indexing and abstracts of books, articles, and conference papers from several hundred journals, covering cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Abstracts of Folklore Studies
1963-1975. Abstracts of articles from journals in folklore. Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Academic Search Premier Off-Campus Access
Dates vary. An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Acceda Noticias (English interface) Off-Campus Access
Mostly 2000-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 40 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Acceda Noticias (Spanish interface) Off-Campus Access
2000-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 50 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Access World News Off-Campus Access
Mostly 1990's-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 1,000 United States and international newspapers and news services.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AccessScience Off-Campus Access
The online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Yearbooks and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ACM Guide to Computing Literature
Index to key journals, conference proceedings, books, and more in Computer Science--published by the ACM.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ACS Journals Search Off-Campus Access
The full text of articles from 30+ journals published by the American Chemical Society is available from the very first issues of the journals to the present.
Unrestricted Resource  Africa Bibliography

Unrestricted Resource  African Abstracts
1961-1972. A quarterly review of ethnological, social, and linguistic studies appearing in current periodicals.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  African American Music Reference Off-Campus Access
African American Music Reference when complete will include 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies, which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Musical genres represented are blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.It can also be searched through Music Online: Reference
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AGRICOLA Off-Campus Access
Provides citations to the wide range of agricultural literature.
Unrestricted Resource  All Music Guide

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AllAfrica
AllAfrica aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources, who are responsible for their own reporting and views.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Alternative Press Index Off-Campus Access
1991-present. An index of nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Alternative Press Index Archive Off-Campus Access
1969-1990. An index of nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  America's Historical Newspapers Off-Campus Access
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers compiled in a single database. Paid ads are excluded.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  America's News Magazines
Mostly 1990's-present online resource that provides full-text articles from 25+ well-known popular magazines.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  America's Newspapers Off-Campus Access

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  America: History and Life Off-Campus Access
Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies Off-Campus Access
Produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1939-present.(Also available in print: Z2483 .A65)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  American State Papers Off-Campus Access
1789-1838. Full-text database of U.S. Congressional materials.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  L' Annee Philologique Off-Campus Access
This is the primary resource for comprehensive access to the literature on all aspects of the classical period. Library subscribes to the print version as well as the online version. The print version allows you to easily browse the years work.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History
A bibliography covering the Roman period in Great Britain up the 20th century. In addition to online access, library also has in print: Reference Z2016 .A55 1981
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Anthropological Index Online
1957-. Indexes journal articles in physical anthropology, cultural anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Anthropological Literature Off-Campus Access
1984-. Indexes journal articles and edited works in archaeology, anthropology and linguistics, with primary emphasis on: archaeology, anthropology (biological & physical, cultural, and social), and linguistics. Also covers sociology, history, ethnohistory, demography, geography, international development, and human genetics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Anthrosource Off-Campus Access
1888-. Full-text online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  AP images (Associated Press) Off-Campus Access
Provides 24/7 access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline. This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Grinnell College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Applied Science & Technology Abstracts Off-Campus Access
Spanning 1983-present, this database covers topics in areas that include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.
Unrestricted Resource  Art History Resources on the Web / Christopher L. C.E. Whitcombe
Professor, Art History, Sweet Briar College, Virginia. 1995- Organized collection of links to websites in many aspects of Art History.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ARTbibliographies Modern Off-Campus Access
Online bibliographical database providing full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards.
Unrestricted Resource  ArtCyclopedia
An online encyclopedia of art. Also includes a directory of Art Museums Worldwide. Searchable. Includes images.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ARTFL Off-Campus Access
American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ArticleFirst Off-Campus Access
1990-current. An index of articles listed on the table of contents pages of journals. This database is multidisciplinary and includes over 15,000 publications
Unrestricted Resource  Artlibraries.net, virtual catalog for art history
An international specialized meta-catalogue allowing the retrieval of bibliographic records of distinctive art historical databases, giving access to more than 8 million records (as of June 2008), including records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, etc., and an increasing percentage of records for archival and photographic materials as well as for online resources.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Arts and Humanities Search Off-Campus Access
Indexes over 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected articles from social science and science journals. Contents include articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ARTStor
Searchable database of images applicable to different times, cultures and disciplines. Also includes local Physics and Botany image collections. Use individual log-in for off-campus access.
Unrestricted Resource  arXiv
3-primary 1991-present; an e-print service which presents papers in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ATLA Religion Index Off-Campus Access
1949-current. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over 1,000 international journals and 14,000 multi-author works.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Contains selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Includes each issue of the magazines Biblical archaeology review, Bible review, and Archaeology odyssey, and the content of five books.
Unrestricted Resource  Bibliographie de la philosophie
Includes citations and abstracts of books (but not articles) in philosophy.
Unrestricted Resource  Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
A comprehensive annual bibliography of Western-language materials, primarily in German, on German language and literature.
Unrestricted Resource  Bibliographie der franzosischen Literaturwissenschaft
A comprehensive bibliography of Western-language materials about French literature and the French language.
Unrestricted Resource  Bibliographie Internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance
Lists books and articles in all areas of study on the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe: literature, philosophy, history, religion, the arts, economics, political science, law, and science.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Bibliography of Asian Studies Off-Campus Access
Indexes the scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Bibliography of Bioethics
"An ongoing research project of the Kennedy Institute, Center for Bioethics at Georgetown University." Topics covered include abortion, euthanasia, behavioral research, capital punishment, genetic engineering, privacy, and warfare.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Bibliography of the History of Art Off-Campus Access
Index and abstracts (in French or English) of the current literature of European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Biography and Genealogy Master Index Off-Campus Access
An index to nearly 12 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  BIOSIS Previews
Contact the Science Librarian for use of this database.
Unrestricted Resource  Book Review Digest
Book reviews in digest form
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Books In Print Off-Campus Access
Contains information about books, audios, and videos that are in print, out of print, and forthcoming from North American publishers. Includes thousands of reviews from authoritative sources
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Business Source Elite Off-Campus Access
1984-current. Covers national and international business, finance, banking, and industry, but also emphasizes regional business activities and trends.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Cedar Rapids Gazette Off-Campus Access
Provides the electronic edition of record for this Iowa newspaper, excluding paid advertisements. Access is through the America's Newspapers database.
Unrestricted Resource  Center for Research Libraries
CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Chemical Abstracts
Provides the most in-depth indexing and abstracting coverage available of the scholarly research literature published internationally in all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering. Also available in print.
Unrestricted Resource  ChemIDplus
National Library of Medicine; an online chemical identification resource; an excellent tool for obtaining comprehensive and reliable ... information about chemical substances from over 70 chemical databases.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Clase and Periodica Off-Campus Access
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Classical Music Reference Library Off-Campus Access
Classical Music Reference Library brings together reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music. Included are Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (also available in print in Burling Reference), and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music providing coverage of all classical genres, spanning music from the Medieval period to the 21st century, including definitions of musical terms and biographical information on the major classical composers and artists. This can also be searched through Music Online: Reference
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Classical Scores Library Off-Campus Access
Classical Scores Library is made up of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.rnContent in the database includes material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.rnThe collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  College Source Online
Provides the full text of college catalogs from 2-year, 4-year, and graduate schools. The database is searchable by major, tuition, state, enrollment, degrees, and affiliation. It also has links to financial aid information and college home pages.
Unrestricted Resource  Collembola collection
This database includes all records of Collembola which are or were in the Collection of K. Christiansen. The records are mainly from North America but include some specimens from Mexico and Lebanon, Syria and China.
Unrestricted Resource  Comext
External trade data for the European Union. This site is designed for downloading data for analysis rather than for quick access to individual statistics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Contemporary Authors Off-Campus Access
See description of Literature Resource Center below. Search authors by time period, nation of origin, ethnicity, and name.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Contemporary Literary Criticism Off-Campus Access
(print and online--selective)--The print edition (232+ vol.) is in the reference collection: PN771 .C59
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) Off-Campus Access
(1992-present) Full-text access to global information on women, including journals, newsletters, research reports, the alternative press, legislative actions, personal narratives, and book and media reviews.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Continental Rationalists : Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz Off-Campus Access
Full text database of the writings of Descartes, Benedict de Spinoza, and Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz through Intelex Past Masters
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CQ Voting and Elections Collection Off-Campus Access
A collection of research tools that covers a host of information about voting in America both past and present. Covers political parties, campaigns and elections, and demographic information about voters.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CrossFire Beilstein

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CSA Biological Sciences Off-Campus Access

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CSA Neurosciences Abstracts/MEDLINE/PsycINFO Off-Campus Access
Search these 3 databases at the same time; a good way to start searching for primary literature about almost any topic in Neuroscience. The latest 10 years of MEDLINE is included in this search.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Des Moines Register Off-Campus Access
The Des Moines Register is the largest circulation paper in the state of Iowa. This link goes to a page describing how to access the Des Moines Register in various formats (online, CD-ROM, microfilm, and print).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Dictionary of Literary Biography Off-Campus Access
(print and online-selective)Reference collection: PS 21 .D5x (volume no.) The last volume of the series includes a complete index. The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center.
Unrestricted Resource  Directory of Open Access Journals
This is a database of over 1,000 free, full-text, peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals. It covers a wide range of subject areas in a variety of languages in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Dissertation Abstracts Off-Campus Access
1861-current. Covers the complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at most accredited institutions in the U.S. and some in Canada and other countries.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  DRAM Off-Campus Access
(Digital Anthology of Recorded Music) Streaming audio recordings of chiefly 20th and 21st century music recorded on American recording labels, including New World. Also includes complete and original liner notes and essays.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 2, 3 (1690-1922) Off-Campus Access
1690-1922. Full text of hundreds Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Early English Books Online (EEBO) Off-Campus Access
Contains digital facsimile page images of 100,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, between 1473-1700.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EBooks Off-Campus Access
OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EBSCO Animals [K-12] Off-Campus Access
Current. Offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Available off-campus via proxy server
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EBSCO for Kids [K-12] Off-Campus Access
Current. Provides encyclopedia entries, a dictionary, and magazine articles aimed at children and young people up to high school level. Available off-campus via proxy server.rnrn
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EBSCOhost Off-Campus Access
Provides a multipurpose gateway to searching a wide range of subjects in 16 different databases, including an encyclopedia, scholarly and popular periodicals, news sources, information about health, business, education, and pharmacology.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ECO (Electronic Collections Online) Off-Campus Access
1995-current. A collection of thousands of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EconLit Off-Campus Access
1969-current. Provides citations for journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics from hundreds of sources. Available off-campus via proxy server. NOTE: Many of the articles in EconLit are working papers from the RePEc database. "Search for full text" will NOT take you to the full text of these working papers. You will have to go to the RePEc database and download these working papers by hand.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Education Research Complete Off-Campus Access
"A database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties."
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  eHRAF Archaeology Off-Campus Access
A cross-cultural database containing tens of thousands of pages of information on the world's prehistory. It is organized by archaeological tradition and by subject.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  eHRAF World Cultures Off-Campus Access
Provides ethnographic studies of cultures within the United States and around the world.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Off-Campus Access
Digitized copies of 138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, primarily in the United Kingdom and the Americas. Includes books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Empire Online Off-Campus Access
1492-present. A collection of original primary documents relating to cultural contacts, including aspects of religion, race, class, and imperialism.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Encyclopedia Britannica Online Off-Campus Access

Unrestricted Resource  Encyclopedia of American Social Movements

Unrestricted Resource  Encyclopedia of American Studies
Encompasses a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present, covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Unrestricted Resource  Entrez: the Life Sciences Search Engine
A search system created by the National Center for Biotechnology Information to search its major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Off-Campus Access
A multidisciplinary database providing coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from nearly 6,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (through CSA) Off-Campus Access
1966-current. Indexes education-related literature, including library science literature. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCO] Off-Campus Access
1966-current. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Ethnic NewsWatch Off-Campus Access
Full text of newspapers published by U.S. ethnic communities including African American, Hispanic, Greek, Italian, Jewish, Finnish, Russian, Filipino, Arabic, Asian, Pacific Islander, Native American, and more. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
1991-present (online), 1975-1995 (print). Citations for Slavic and East European studies published in Europe, geographic coverage of East-Central and Eastern Europe as well as Russia and the former Soviet Union/Commonwealth of Independent States. Also available in print: Z2483 .E94
Unrestricted Resource  FASB Accounting Standards Codification
Replaces FARS. The authoritative source of information on Generally Accepted Accounting Procedures. Free basic access after registration.
Unrestricted Resource  Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Fiction Connection
Use Fiction Connection to discover titles similar to those you already enjoy. Or feel free to browse titles by topic, genre, setting, character, location, and timeframe.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Film & Television Literature Index Off-Campus Access
Covers film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes full text of more than 90 journals and indexing for more than 600 publications.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  FindArticles
A World Wide Web-based search tool for locating articles in over 500 publications covering science, the arts, politics, technology, social issues, and culture.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  FirstSearch Off-Campus Access
A gateway to searching the many databases offered through the FirstSearch interface. The databases cover a wide range of subjects in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Unrestricted Resource  Folkstreams.net
Building a national preserve of documentary films about American folk or roots culture. Produced by independent filmmakers, these hard-to-find films give voice to the arts and experience of diverse American groups.
Unrestricted Resource  French 20 Bibliography
A critical and biographical reference for the study of French literature since 1885. Published by the French Institute/Alliance Francaise.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [K-12] Off-Campus Access
Current. Full text of the encyclopedia, including 25,000 entries covering an array of topics and subject areas. Also includes images. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online Off-Campus Access
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Sound files are included with the online version. This can also be searched through Music Online: Reference. A print version with CDs for each volume is also available in Burling Reference.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  GenderWatch Off-Campus Access
A collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.
Unrestricted Resource  GeNii, NII Scholarly Academic and Information Portal
Japanese academic portal providing services about academic paper information, book information, etc. and connecting CiNii (citation information by NII), Webcat Plus, KAKEN, NII-DBR (Academic research database repository).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  GEOBASE Off-Campus Access
1980-present. Covers over 2,060 sources including journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports with information about geography, geology, ecology, and more. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  GeoRef
Contact Kevin Engel for access to GeoRef. The database of the American Geological Institute (AGI). It covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Global Development Finance Off-Campus Access
External debt information for developing countries from the World Bank.
Unrestricted Resource  Google Scholar

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Government Finance Statistics Off-Campus Access
1972-current. Also available in print. Most recent year is in Burling Reference; issues back to 1977 are on the second floor.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Greenfile
Information on aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles about global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Grove Art Online Off-Campus Access
Also available in print in the Reference Collection. Ref. N6847 .G758 2000
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Grove Music Online Off-Campus Access
Also available in print in the Reference Collection.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Access to future, current, and retrospective volumes of the Handbook.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Health Source: Consumer Edition Off-Campus Access
1985-current. A collection of consumer health information with access to hundreds of periodicals. Subjects covered include genetics, oncology, pediatrics, emergency medicine, bacteriology,and more. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Off-Campus Access
1975-current. Provides access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health.
Unrestricted Resource  HighWire Press
A division of the Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free, full-text, peer-reviewed content, with 919 journals in the Biological , Physical, Medical and Social Sciences currently included.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Historical Abstracts Off-Campus Access
Covers world history after 1450, except for the U.S. and Canada. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present Off-Campus Access

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Humanities International Complete Off-Campus Access
Covers a diverse range of subjects from the humanities, including archaeology, art, classics, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature and religion. Some full text is included.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ICPSR Off-Campus Access
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to the world's largest archive of raw data sets in the social sciences. Before downloading data, you will be prompted to create a MyData account. You must be on campus to create this account. As long as you log in to your MyData account from an on-campus computer at least every 6 months, you will also be able to download data while you are off campus.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Independent Online
A source for news, classifieds and information from South Africa. Contains hundreds of local news items, all fully searchable. In English.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Index of Christian Art (Princeton) Off-Campus Access
Indexes 130,000 digital images of 17 different media including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. Works of art were produced from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550 and manuscripts from the Morgan and Princeton Library projects up to the middle of the sixteenth century. Copyright for each image is indicated.
Unrestricted Resource  Index to American little magazines
1920-1967. Indexes small press magazines.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Index to Black Periodicals
Provides indexing to African American periodicals of general and scholarly interest. In 2002, the index included 34 publications.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Ingenta
An electronic table of contents and search service. Users can set up a personal account and receive e-mail alerts of recently published articles of interest and/or the table of contents of new issues of journals of interest.
Unrestricted Resource  INIS
International Nuclear Information System, International Atomic Energy Agency; provides a "comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology."
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  INSPEC
Contact Kevin Engel for access to INSPEC. Covers over 4,100 journals, book reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of physics, electronics, and computer science.
Unrestricted Resource  International African Bibliography
Indexes articles on Africa generally, African regions, Indian Ocean islands, and the African diaspora. Publications are from African and international sources, primarily in English. Library also has in print: Reference Alcove, 1971 to the present.
Unrestricted Resource  International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Contains numerical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Covers physics, chemistry, and technology. The 1000-page index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  International Financial Statistics Off-Campus Access
Country-level data on foreign exchange, imports/exports, reserves, consumer prices, industrial production, commodity prices, banks and more from the International Monetary Fund. Some data is available as far back as 1940. This site is designed for downloading data for analysis rather than for providing quick access to individual statistics.
Unrestricted Resource  International Index to Periodicals
Index to journals in the social sciences and humanities
Unrestricted Resource  International Philosophical Bibliography
Provides an index to the philosophical literature in periodicals and books published in German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch, and Portuguese. The bibliography itself is published in French.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  iPoll Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Off-Campus Access
Search for U.S. public opinion data from Gallup polls; ABC, NBC, and CBS News polls; and more. In many cases, you can download the full data set from the survey through Roper Express.

View the Terms of Use for this resource.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Off-Campus Access
Coverage varies. Some full text. Resources for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) citations in journals(1784-), books, reviews; a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts; etc.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Journal of Economic Abstracts Off-Campus Access
Provides indexing and abstracts to economic literature, including journal articles and book reviews. Published by the American Economic Association. Available online through JSTOR. 1963-1968.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Journal of Economic Literature Off-Campus Access
Provides indexing and abstracts to economic literature, including journal articles and book reviews. Published by the American Economic Association. Available online through JSTOR from 1969 to two years ago. Paper available for most recent 2 years.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  JSTOR Off-Campus Access
Complete full text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences, Health and General Sciences, and Ecology and Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Knovel Critical Tables
Contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties for organic and inorganic compounds.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Latindex
Scientific journals from Latin American, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal--articles in Spanish and Portuguese.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Left Index (Online) Off-Campus Access
Indexes articles from the literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically- and culturally-engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy. 1982 and earlier-present.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  LexisNexis Academic Off-Campus Access
Coverage varies. Full text. Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information and is strong in legislative, government, company, financial and demographic information, market research, and industry reports.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  LexisNexis Congressional Off-Campus Access
1970-. Provides access to the CIS Index—the most comprehensive index/abstract to Congressional publications—plus the full text of some hearings, reports, and other Congressional documents.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Library Literature
Covers Library and Information Science including records from library journals, books, conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Library Literature & Information Science Off-Campus Access
1980-current. Covers Library and Information Science including records from library journals, books, conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews.Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) Off-Campus Access
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Off-Campus Access
Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Literature Resource Center (LRC) Off-Campus Access
Provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Includes the MLA Bibliography which sometimes links to full-text. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MAS Ultra--School Edition Off-Campus Access
1975-current. Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MasterFILE Premier Off-Campus Access
1975-current. Covers virtually every subject area of general interest, provides full text of general reference publications, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MathSciNet Off-Campus Access
1940-present. Covers the world's mathematical literature. Provides Web access to the signed reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MEDLINE Off-Campus Access
1953-current; FirstSearch interface. One of the premier sources for bibliographic coverage of medicine, medical research, health care, molecular biology, physiological psychology, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Middle Search Plus Off-Campus Access
1990-current. Provides full text for more than 150 popular, magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MLA International Bibliography [contained within Literature Resource Center] Off-Campus Access
1926-current. Indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
Unrestricted Resource  Music Index
Data from more than 655 international music periodicals covering a broad range of subjects incuding musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries. This print index is available for the years 1949-1993 and is in offsite storage.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Music Online: Reference Off-Campus Access
This database includes the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference, and Classical Scores Library. Made up of the texts of hundreds of books, recordings,and scores, it is searchable by subjects, categories, or across the entire database.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Music-in-Print Series
Indexes a variety of types of sheet music including sacred choral, secular choral, organ, classical vocal, orchestral, string, guitar, woodwind, piano, band, brass, percussion, recorder, handbell, etc.
Unrestricted Resource  NASA Earth Observatory
Offers high-quality geological, environmental, and geographical information at the planetary scale ... from NASA's extensive repositories of satellite imagery and numeric data; includes color photographs, maps, satellite images, articles, data sets, and more.
Unrestricted Resource  National Gallery of Art
Provides digital images of artwork and descriptive articles about the materials in the U.S. National Gallery of Art.
Unrestricted Resource  National Geographic Magazine
National Geographic Magazine includes indexes to its own content. Earlier years have indexes to several volumes at a time; new years (National Geographic) are indexed annually.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Naxos Music Library Off-Campus Access
Streaming music service for the genres of Classical Music, Jazz Contemporary, World/Folk, New Age, Chinese Music
Unrestricted Resource  NCBI PubMed (MEDLINE)
Covers the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics), primarily general science and chemistry journals.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  netLibrary Off-Campus Access
Provides access to electronic versions of books which may be viewed or checked-out online. All available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. Login via individual account for off-campus access.
Unrestricted Resource  New York Times and Index
The New York Times is one of the leading news providers in the U.S. This link goes to a page describing how to access the NYT in the Grinnell College Libraries.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Newspaper Abstracts Off-Campus Access
1989-present. Abstracts of items from over 50 U.S. national and regional newspapers. Includes news articles, reviews, editorials, commentaries, editorial cartoons, and other items.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Newspaper Source Off-Campus Access
1994-present.Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
Unrestricted Resource  Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922
Indexes 51 titles from 1890-1899. Also indexes 14 of the 51 beyond 1899. Includes a "Poems" section, listing over 13,000 poems.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Off-Campus Access
This database contains 1.2 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Provides excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, philosophers and other creative writers who died between 1800 and 1899. Online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. Print version is available in the reference collection: Ref PN761 .N56
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  OAIster Off-Campus Access
Contains digital resources from 1,000+ open archive collections; includes a wide array of materials--digitized books and articles, audio files, images, movies, data sets, theses and dissertations, technical reports, research papers, and more. OAIster was originally developed at the University of Michigan Libraries.
Unrestricted Resource  Online books page
Out of copyright materials. Full text. An index of thousands of on-line books on the Internet. Pointers to significant directories and archives of on-line texts.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Oxford Art Online Off-Campus Access
Full text. A gateway into art research and the access point for Oxford art reference subscriptions and publications including The Dictionary of Art(1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art(2001). Articles will be added and updated.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Oxford English Dictionary (Online) Off-Campus Access
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Oxford Music Online Off-Campus Access
All time periods. Full text. Oxford Music Online expands Grove Music online and comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Oxford Reference Online (ORO) Off-Campus Access
Provides full text of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly entries.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Archive Off-Campus Access
1915-1976. Includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports and more, covering global public and social policies and international relations.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International Off-Campus Access
1972-present. Includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports and more, covering global public policy and social issues.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PDID (Pioneer Digital Image Database)
Collections of images including Art of the Prairie Region, the Grinnell College Art Image Database, the Grinnell College Physics Historical Museum, the Paul Wilson Plant Image Database, Historic Iowa Postcards, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Periodicals Index Online Off-Campus Access
Index to millions of articles, some in full-text, published in over 3,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 to 1995. Scope is world-wide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages.
Unrestricted Resource  Perseus Digital Library
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Perseus brings together a large, hetereogenous collection of materials and presents it in ways to illustrate the connections between disciplines, events, ideas, and concepts.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Philosopher's Index Off-Campus Access
1940-current. Indexes books and journals of philosophy: ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Unrestricted Resource  Policy Archive
A digital archive of over 13,500 reports, briefs, white papers and other documents from think tanks, research centers, government agencies and foundations.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Polling the Nations Off-Campus Access
Compiles surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Each of the records reports a question asked, the percentage of respondents who gave each answer, and some information about the sample and survey methodology. The raw data is NOT available from this source; for some surveys, you may be able to find raw data through ICPSR or another source.
Unrestricted Resource  Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
An index to dozens of popular and scholarly periodicals of the 19th century.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Primary Search Off-Campus Access
1990-current. Provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Proceedings First Off-Campus Access
1993-current. An index of worldwide conference proceedings. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Professional Development Collection Off-Campus Access
1965-current. A collection of hundreds of journals designed to help professional educators stay abreast of the key issues in their field. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Project Muse Off-Campus Access
Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive)
Covering 1893 up to the current 4 years, PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PsycARTICLES Off-Campus Access
Provides full-text articles from several dozen journals covering general and specialized topics in psychology.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PsycINFO Off-Campus Access
Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1300 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.
Unrestricted Resource  Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (Annual)
An index of the most popular, general-interest periodicals published in the United States, reflecting the history of 20th century America.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Reference Universe Off-Campus Access
Some full text. Reference Universe helps you find the right article--the authoritative article--to begin your research, whether it's on your shelves in a reference work or in an online reference database
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  RefWorks
A Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Regional Business News Off-Campus Access
1990-current. Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications including 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature Off-Campus Access
The comprehensive database to the music literature. Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews and more. Particularly strong for classical music. For popular music publications see Academic Search Premier.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  RoperExpress Off-Campus Access
Download full public opinion data sets from Gallup polls; ABC, NBC, and CBS News polls; and more—including international surveys. (RoperExpress is only for downloading full data sets to analyze. To search for quick public opinion statistics, use iPoll.)

View the Terms of Use for this resource.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Scarlet & Black (Grinnell College newspaper)
Indexes the Grinnell College newspaper from 1976-2000.
Unrestricted Resource  Science Abstracts
1898-1996. Provides indexing and abstracts to periodicals in physics and electrical engineering. Issued by the Institution of Electrical Engineers and the Physical Society of London.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Science Citation Index
Contact Kevin Engel for access to the Science Citation Index. A unique database that allows you to discover who has cited (referred to) a particular article or book since it was originally published.
Unrestricted Resource  Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. It enables you to search 47 million pages in real time
Unrestricted Resource  Slide Collection (Grinnell College)
Search for slides in the Grinnell College Slide Collection.
Unrestricted Resource  Smithsonian Physical Tables--9th Revised Edition
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Social Services Abstracts Off-Campus Access
Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of community development; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Sociological Abstracts Off-Campus Access
1952-current. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
Unrestricted Resource  Sources of Statistics

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  SPIN/Scitation
Provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  SRef
A scientific reference linking system developed for members of the scientific community that supports electronic publishing such as databases, multi-media applications and online-magazines.
Unrestricted Resource  SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network)
The Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) maintains a database of over 160,000 working papers. These papers are primarily in economics, but also in political science and a few other subjects. Because these are working papers, they have not necessarily been peer reviewed.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  STAT-USA: GLOBUS & NTDB
Information about international trade for businesspeople. Includes country commercial guides, market research reports, and listings of trade opportunities. You must see a librarian and get a password to access this database.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  STAT-USA: State of the Nation
Detailed data on a wide range of subjects related to the U.S. economy. Data is generated by various government agencies and compiled by the U.S. Department of Commerce. You must see a librarian and get a password to access this database.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (Online) Off-Campus Access
Indexing and abstracts of articles published in international publications dealing with the main areas of women's studies.
Unrestricted Resource  Taxonomy Database
National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Teacher Reference Center (TRC) Off-Campus Access
Dates vary. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) Off-Campus Access
Full text of virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 (London Times) Off-Campus Access
Access to the complete backfile of the Times (London) including text, images, editorials and advertisements.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  TOPICsearch Off-Campus Access
Current. This current events database allows exploration of social, political & economic issues popular in today's K-12 school classrooms. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Unrestricted Resource  Transitions Online [TOL]
An independent, online news source from the Czech Republic. TOL covers news, politics, culture, and analysis from central and eastern Europe, and the Balkans. In English.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism Off-Campus Access
Includes excerpts of criticism of literary authors who died between 1900 and 2000.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  U.S. Congressional Serial Set Off-Campus Access
Online access to the reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, from 1817 to 1966. Also available in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. Please see a librarian if you would like to request the bound volumes from storage.
Unrestricted Resource  U.S. Government Publications Office (GPO) via FDSys
GPO's new system for searching government documents. FDSys will eventually replace GPO Access. Content is slowly being migrated from GPO Access to FDSys. If you can't find the document you need in FDSys, try GPO Access; the document you need might not have been migrated yet.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  U.S. Government Publications Office (GPO) via GPO Access Off-Campus Access
1976-. Indexes all types of U.S. government documents, including judiciary materials and Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records.
Unrestricted Resource  UNCTAD TRAINS
The Trade Analysis and Information System from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development. Comprehensive data on tariffs and other trade control measures. Requires downloading the WITS software client to access data. WITS has been installed on PCs in the campus computer labs; look for WITS in the Start menu.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  USA Trade Online
Extremely detailed import and export data for over 20,000 commodities. You must see a librarian and get a password to use this database.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Vocational and Career Collection Off-Campus Access
1985-. Some full text.designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals.
Unrestricted Resource  Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
A bibliography of major periodicals published between 1824 and 1900, primarily in Great Britain.
Unrestricted Resource  Wolfram MathWorld

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Off-Campus Access
Primary source documents from women's reform organizations such as the Women's Trade Union League, the National Association of Colored Women, Henry Street and Hull House settlements, and the National Women's Party.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Women working , 1800-1930
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on the women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  World Almanac Off-Campus Access
1998-current ed. Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. A source for biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics, dates, and information about a wide variety of subjects. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  World Development Indicators Off-Campus Access
854 different economic and social indicators, with 40 years of data for some series, for every country in the world. Also available in print in the Burling reference collection.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  WorldCat Off-Campus Access
Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Off-Campus Access
Indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Writings on British History
A bibliography of books and articles published during a given span of years on the history of Great Britain from about 400 A.D. to 1939. Includes an appendix containing a select list of publications on British history since 1939. Library also has in print: Reference Z2016 .A55 1981
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Year's Work in English Studies
An annual publication of bibliographic essays that present a selective, comprehensive, and evaluative overview of a given year's scholarly writing in the fields of English and American literature. Library also has in print: Burling 3rd floor PE58 .E6
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Zentralblatt MATH
1868-current. Comprehensive coverage of international mathematical research. Try MathSciNet instead for most searches. Grinnell College does not subscribe to this resource, but you can retrieve three results for any search using the free version.