Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

S

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Scarlet & Black (Grinnell College newspaper)
Indexes the Grinnell College newspaper from 1976-2000.
Unrestricted Resource  Science Abstracts
1898-1996. Provides indexing and abstracts to periodicals in physics and electrical engineering. Issued by the Institution of Electrical Engineers and the Physical Society of London.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Science Citation Index
Contact Kevin Engel for access to the Science Citation Index. A unique database that allows you to discover who has cited (referred to) a particular article or book since it was originally published.
Unrestricted Resource  Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. It enables you to search 47 million pages in real time
Unrestricted Resource  Slide Collection (Grinnell College)
Search for slides in the Grinnell College Slide Collection.
Unrestricted Resource  Smithsonian Physical Tables--9th Revised Edition
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Social Services Abstracts Off-Campus Access
Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of community development; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Sociological Abstracts Off-Campus Access
1952-current. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
Unrestricted Resource  Sources of Statistics

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  SPIN/Scitation
Provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  SRef
A scientific reference linking system developed for members of the scientific community that supports electronic publishing such as databases, multi-media applications and online-magazines.
Unrestricted Resource  SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network)
The Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) maintains a database of over 160,000 working papers. These papers are primarily in economics, but also in political science and a few other subjects. Because these are working papers, they have not necessarily been peer reviewed.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  STAT-USA: GLOBUS & NTDB
Information about international trade for businesspeople. Includes country commercial guides, market research reports, and listings of trade opportunities. You must see a librarian and get a password to access this database.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  STAT-USA: State of the Nation
Detailed data on a wide range of subjects related to the U.S. economy. Data is generated by various government agencies and compiled by the U.S. Department of Commerce. You must see a librarian and get a password to access this database.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (Online) Off-Campus Access
Indexing and abstracts of articles published in international publications dealing with the main areas of women's studies.