Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

P

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Archive Off-Campus Access
1915-1976. Includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports and more, covering global public and social policies and international relations.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International Off-Campus Access
1972-present. Includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports and more, covering global public policy and social issues.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PDID (Pioneer Digital Image Database)
Collections of images including Art of the Prairie Region, the Grinnell College Art Image Database, the Grinnell College Physics Historical Museum, the Paul Wilson Plant Image Database, Historic Iowa Postcards, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Periodicals Index Online Off-Campus Access
Index to millions of articles, some in full-text, published in over 3,500 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 to 1995. Scope is world-wide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages.
Unrestricted Resource  Perseus Digital Library
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Perseus brings together a large, hetereogenous collection of materials and presents it in ways to illustrate the connections between disciplines, events, ideas, and concepts.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Philosopher's Index Off-Campus Access
1940-current. Indexes books and journals of philosophy: ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Unrestricted Resource  Policy Archive
A digital archive of over 13,500 reports, briefs, white papers and other documents from think tanks, research centers, government agencies and foundations.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Polling the Nations Off-Campus Access
Compiles surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Each of the records reports a question asked, the percentage of respondents who gave each answer, and some information about the sample and survey methodology. The raw data is NOT available from this source; for some surveys, you may be able to find raw data through ICPSR or another source.
Unrestricted Resource  Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
An index to dozens of popular and scholarly periodicals of the 19th century.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Primary Search Off-Campus Access
1990-current. Provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Proceedings First Off-Campus Access
1993-current. An index of worldwide conference proceedings. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Professional Development Collection Off-Campus Access
1965-current. A collection of hundreds of journals designed to help professional educators stay abreast of the key issues in their field. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Project Muse Off-Campus Access
Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive)
Covering 1893 up to the current 4 years, PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PsycARTICLES Off-Campus Access
Provides full-text articles from several dozen journals covering general and specialized topics in psychology.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  PsycINFO Off-Campus Access
Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1300 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.