Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

N

Unrestricted Resource  NASA Earth Observatory
Offers high-quality geological, environmental, and geographical information at the planetary scale ... from NASA's extensive repositories of satellite imagery and numeric data; includes color photographs, maps, satellite images, articles, data sets, and more.
Unrestricted Resource  National Gallery of Art
Provides digital images of artwork and descriptive articles about the materials in the U.S. National Gallery of Art.
Unrestricted Resource  National Geographic Magazine
National Geographic Magazine includes indexes to its own content. Earlier years have indexes to several volumes at a time; new years (National Geographic) are indexed annually.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Naxos Music Library Off-Campus Access
Streaming music service for the genres of Classical Music, Jazz Contemporary, World/Folk, New Age, Chinese Music
Unrestricted Resource  NCBI PubMed (MEDLINE)
Covers the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics), primarily general science and chemistry journals.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  netLibrary Off-Campus Access
Provides access to electronic versions of books which may be viewed or checked-out online. All available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. Login via individual account for off-campus access.
Unrestricted Resource  New York Times and Index
The New York Times is one of the leading news providers in the U.S. This link goes to a page describing how to access the NYT in the Grinnell College Libraries.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Newspaper Abstracts Off-Campus Access
1989-present. Abstracts of items from over 50 U.S. national and regional newspapers. Includes news articles, reviews, editorials, commentaries, editorial cartoons, and other items.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Newspaper Source Off-Campus Access
1994-present.Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
Unrestricted Resource  Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922
Indexes 51 titles from 1890-1899. Also indexes 14 of the 51 beyond 1899. Includes a "Poems" section, listing over 13,000 poems.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Off-Campus Access
This database contains 1.2 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Provides excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, philosophers and other creative writers who died between 1800 and 1899. Online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. Print version is available in the reference collection: Ref PN761 .N56