Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

M

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MAS Ultra--School Edition Off-Campus Access
1975-current. Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MasterFILE Premier Off-Campus Access
1975-current. Covers virtually every subject area of general interest, provides full text of general reference publications, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MathSciNet Off-Campus Access
1940-present. Covers the world's mathematical literature. Provides Web access to the signed reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MEDLINE Off-Campus Access
1953-current; FirstSearch interface. One of the premier sources for bibliographic coverage of medicine, medical research, health care, molecular biology, physiological psychology, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Middle Search Plus Off-Campus Access
1990-current. Provides full text for more than 150 popular, magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  MLA International Bibliography [contained within Literature Resource Center] Off-Campus Access
1926-current. Indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
Unrestricted Resource  Music Index
Data from more than 655 international music periodicals covering a broad range of subjects incuding musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries. This print index is available for the years 1949-1993 and is in offsite storage.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Music Online: Reference Off-Campus Access
This database includes the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference, and Classical Scores Library. Made up of the texts of hundreds of books, recordings,and scores, it is searchable by subjects, categories, or across the entire database.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Music-in-Print Series
Indexes a variety of types of sheet music including sacred choral, secular choral, organ, classical vocal, orchestral, string, guitar, woodwind, piano, band, brass, percussion, recorder, handbell, etc.