Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

I

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ICPSR Off-Campus Access
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to the world's largest archive of raw data sets in the social sciences. Before downloading data, you will be prompted to create a MyData account. You must be on campus to create this account. As long as you log in to your MyData account from an on-campus computer at least every 6 months, you will also be able to download data while you are off campus.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Independent Online
A source for news, classifieds and information from South Africa. Contains hundreds of local news items, all fully searchable. In English.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Index of Christian Art (Princeton) Off-Campus Access
Indexes 130,000 digital images of 17 different media including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth. Works of art were produced from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550 and manuscripts from the Morgan and Princeton Library projects up to the middle of the sixteenth century. Copyright for each image is indicated.
Unrestricted Resource  Index to American little magazines
1920-1967. Indexes small press magazines.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Index to Black Periodicals
Provides indexing to African American periodicals of general and scholarly interest. In 2002, the index included 34 publications.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Ingenta
An electronic table of contents and search service. Users can set up a personal account and receive e-mail alerts of recently published articles of interest and/or the table of contents of new issues of journals of interest.
Unrestricted Resource  INIS
International Nuclear Information System, International Atomic Energy Agency; provides a "comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology."
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  INSPEC
Contact Kevin Engel for access to INSPEC. Covers over 4,100 journals, book reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of physics, electronics, and computer science.
Unrestricted Resource  International African Bibliography
Indexes articles on Africa generally, African regions, Indian Ocean islands, and the African diaspora. Publications are from African and international sources, primarily in English. Library also has in print: Reference Alcove, 1971 to the present.
Unrestricted Resource  International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Contains numerical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Covers physics, chemistry, and technology. The 1000-page index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  International Financial Statistics Off-Campus Access
Country-level data on foreign exchange, imports/exports, reserves, consumer prices, industrial production, commodity prices, banks and more from the International Monetary Fund. Some data is available as far back as 1940. This site is designed for downloading data for analysis rather than for providing quick access to individual statistics.
Unrestricted Resource  International Index to Periodicals
Index to journals in the social sciences and humanities
Unrestricted Resource  International Philosophical Bibliography
Provides an index to the philosophical literature in periodicals and books published in German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch, and Portuguese. The bibliography itself is published in French.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  iPoll Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Off-Campus Access
Search for U.S. public opinion data from Gallup polls; ABC, NBC, and CBS News polls; and more. In many cases, you can download the full data set from the survey through Roper Express.

View the Terms of Use for this resource.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Off-Campus Access
Coverage varies. Some full text. Resources for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) citations in journals(1784-), books, reviews; a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts; etc.