Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

G

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online Off-Campus Access
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Sound files are included with the online version. This can also be searched through Music Online: Reference. A print version with CDs for each volume is also available in Burling Reference.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  GenderWatch Off-Campus Access
A collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.
Unrestricted Resource  GeNii, NII Scholarly Academic and Information Portal
Japanese academic portal providing services about academic paper information, book information, etc. and connecting CiNii (citation information by NII), Webcat Plus, KAKEN, NII-DBR (Academic research database repository).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  GEOBASE Off-Campus Access
1980-present. Covers over 2,060 sources including journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports with information about geography, geology, ecology, and more. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  GeoRef
Contact Kevin Engel for access to GeoRef. The database of the American Geological Institute (AGI). It covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Global Development Finance Off-Campus Access
External debt information for developing countries from the World Bank.
Unrestricted Resource  Google Scholar

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Government Finance Statistics Off-Campus Access
1972-current. Also available in print. Most recent year is in Burling Reference; issues back to 1977 are on the second floor.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Greenfile
Information on aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles about global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Grove Art Online Off-Campus Access
Also available in print in the Reference Collection. Ref. N6847 .G758 2000
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Grove Music Online Off-Campus Access
Also available in print in the Reference Collection.