Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

E

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 2, 3 (1690-1922) Off-Campus Access
1690-1922. Full text of hundreds Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Early English Books Online (EEBO) Off-Campus Access
Contains digital facsimile page images of 100,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, between 1473-1700.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EBooks Off-Campus Access
OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EBSCO Animals [K-12] Off-Campus Access
Current. Offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Available off-campus via proxy server
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EBSCO for Kids [K-12] Off-Campus Access
Current. Provides encyclopedia entries, a dictionary, and magazine articles aimed at children and young people up to high school level. Available off-campus via proxy server.rnrn
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EBSCOhost Off-Campus Access
Provides a multipurpose gateway to searching a wide range of subjects in 16 different databases, including an encyclopedia, scholarly and popular periodicals, news sources, information about health, business, education, and pharmacology.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ECO (Electronic Collections Online) Off-Campus Access
1995-current. A collection of thousands of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  EconLit Off-Campus Access
1969-current. Provides citations for journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics from hundreds of sources. Available off-campus via proxy server. NOTE: Many of the articles in EconLit are working papers from the RePEc database. "Search for full text" will NOT take you to the full text of these working papers. You will have to go to the RePEc database and download these working papers by hand.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Education Research Complete Off-Campus Access
"A database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties."
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  eHRAF Archaeology Off-Campus Access
A cross-cultural database containing tens of thousands of pages of information on the world's prehistory. It is organized by archaeological tradition and by subject.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  eHRAF World Cultures Off-Campus Access
Provides ethnographic studies of cultures within the United States and around the world.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Off-Campus Access
Digitized copies of 138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, primarily in the United Kingdom and the Americas. Includes books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Empire Online Off-Campus Access
1492-present. A collection of original primary documents relating to cultural contacts, including aspects of religion, race, class, and imperialism.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Encyclopedia Britannica Online Off-Campus Access

Unrestricted Resource  Encyclopedia of American Social Movements

Unrestricted Resource  Encyclopedia of American Studies
Encompasses a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present, covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
Unrestricted Resource  Entrez: the Life Sciences Search Engine
A search system created by the National Center for Biotechnology Information to search its major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Off-Campus Access
A multidisciplinary database providing coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from nearly 6,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (through CSA) Off-Campus Access
1966-current. Indexes education-related literature, including library science literature. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCO] Off-Campus Access
1966-current. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Ethnic NewsWatch Off-Campus Access
Full text of newspapers published by U.S. ethnic communities including African American, Hispanic, Greek, Italian, Jewish, Finnish, Russian, Filipino, Arabic, Asian, Pacific Islander, Native American, and more. Available off-campus via proxy server.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
1991-present (online), 1975-1995 (print). Citations for Slavic and East European studies published in Europe, geographic coverage of East-Central and Eastern Europe as well as Russia and the former Soviet Union/Commonwealth of Independent States. Also available in print: Z2483 .E94