Return to SubjectsPlus home

Database List

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

Looking for the best databases to use for your subject?
Check out our subject guides for suggestions.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | [all]
Search for keyword    

C

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Cedar Rapids Gazette Off-Campus Access
Provides the electronic edition of record for this Iowa newspaper, excluding paid advertisements. Access is through the America's Newspapers database.
Unrestricted Resource  Center for Research Libraries
CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Chemical Abstracts
Provides the most in-depth indexing and abstracting coverage available of the scholarly research literature published internationally in all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering. Also available in print.
Unrestricted Resource  ChemIDplus
National Library of Medicine; an online chemical identification resource; an excellent tool for obtaining comprehensive and reliable ... information about chemical substances from over 70 chemical databases.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Clase and Periodica Off-Campus Access
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Classical Music Reference Library Off-Campus Access
Classical Music Reference Library brings together reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music. Included are Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (also available in print in Burling Reference), and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music providing coverage of all classical genres, spanning music from the Medieval period to the 21st century, including definitions of musical terms and biographical information on the major classical composers and artists. This can also be searched through Music Online: Reference
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Classical Scores Library Off-Campus Access
Classical Scores Library is made up of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.rnContent in the database includes material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.rnThe collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  College Source Online
Provides the full text of college catalogs from 2-year, 4-year, and graduate schools. The database is searchable by major, tuition, state, enrollment, degrees, and affiliation. It also has links to financial aid information and college home pages.
Unrestricted Resource  Collembola collection
This database includes all records of Collembola which are or were in the Collection of K. Christiansen. The records are mainly from North America but include some specimens from Mexico and Lebanon, Syria and China.
Unrestricted Resource  Comext
External trade data for the European Union. This site is designed for downloading data for analysis rather than for quick access to individual statistics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Contemporary Authors Off-Campus Access
See description of Literature Resource Center below. Search authors by time period, nation of origin, ethnicity, and name.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Contemporary Literary Criticism Off-Campus Access
(print and online--selective)--The print edition (232+ vol.) is in the reference collection: PN771 .C59
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) Off-Campus Access
(1992-present) Full-text access to global information on women, including journals, newsletters, research reports, the alternative press, legislative actions, personal narratives, and book and media reviews.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  Continental Rationalists : Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz Off-Campus Access
Full text database of the writings of Descartes, Benedict de Spinoza, and Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz through Intelex Past Masters
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CQ Voting and Elections Collection Off-Campus Access
A collection of research tools that covers a host of information about voting in America both past and present. Covers political parties, campaigns and elections, and demographic information about voters.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CrossFire Beilstein

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CSA Biological Sciences Off-Campus Access

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff  CSA Neurosciences Abstracts/MEDLINE/PsycINFO Off-Campus Access
Search these 3 databases at the same time; a good way to start searching for primary literature about almost any topic in Neuroscience. The latest 10 years of MEDLINE is included in this search.