Starting Research: Science (General)
Basic resources for starting science research.
Databases and Indexes
Academic Search Premier: The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,650 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for all the journals in the collection. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Access Science: Provides the full text of over 8,000 articles, 115,000 definitions, and 1,200 biographies of scientists covering most areas of science.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts: Spanning 1983-present, this database covers topics in areas that include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management.
CSA: Search screen for all the CSA databases to which the Grinnell College Libraries subscribe.
JSTOR: Complete full text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health and General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.
Reference Universe: Reference Universe helps you begin your research. Restrict your search to Grinnell College or search more broadly.
Science Citation Index: CONTACT Kevin Engel FOR ACCESS TO SCIENCE CITATION INDEX. A unique database that allows you to discover who has cited (referred to) a particular article or book since it was originally published.
Science.gov: Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. It enables you to search 47 million pages in real time.
Science Direct Web Editions: Indexing of Elsevier journals and books. Full text available of the most recent 12 months of the Elsevier journals to which we subscribe.
SRef: A scientific reference linking system developed for members of the scientific community. SRef can assist scientists engaged in bibliographical research and authors creating reference lists.
Library Catalogs
Most of Grinnell College's science resources will be found in Kistle Library. A small amount of science reference books are located in Burling Library. Your best bet is to search the Grinnell College libraries catalog to determine the location of the books.
Grinnell College Libraries: Kistle Science Library and Burling Library.
WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat
are available through interlibrary loan.
Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic
delivery.
Reference Sources
Library of Congress classification for science falls into:
In the Kistle Library Reference Collection:
The Nature Yearbook of Science and Technology: Kistle Reference Q9 .N38 2002
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science: Kistle Reference Q121 .G35 2001
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology: Kistle Reference Q121 .M3 1997
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms: Kistle Reference Q123 .M15 2003
The History of Science and Technology: A browser's guide to the great discoveries, inventions, and the people who made them, from the dawn of time to today: Kistle Reference Q125 .B945 2004
Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science: Kistle Reference Q125 .O86 2003
Scientific Laws, Principles, and Theories: A Reference Guide: Kistle Reference Q158.5 .K74 2001
Science and Engineering Indicators: Kistle Reference Q172.5 .S34
Oxford Dictionary of Scientific Quotations: Kistle Reference Q173 .O915 2005
Science and its Times: Understanding the social significance of scientific discovery: Kistle Reference Q175.46 .S35 2000
Instruments of Science: Kistle Reference Q184.5 .I57 1998
Rules of Thumb for Engineers and Scientists: Kistle Reference Q199 .F57 1991
Selected Web Sites
NSDL: National Science Digital Library: The NSDL is a service of the National Science Foundation. It provides links and tools for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and learning.
ScienceResearch.com: This site is "a free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases."
SciTopia.org: SciTopia is "federated vertical search portal."
EurekAlert!: This site is "an online, global news service operated by AAAS, the science society."
ScienceUpdate: "Science Update [which is produced by the AAAS] is a daily, 60-second feature covering the latest discoveries in science, technology and medicine."
National Science Foundation: This is the official site of The National Science Foundation (NSF), which is an independent federal agency.
National Academies: The National Academies is comprised of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
Science Daily: Science Daily “is one of the Internet's leading online magazines and Web portals devoted to science, technology, and medicine.”
Exploratorium: The Exploratorium website offers a collection of online exhibits and webcasts. The Exploratorium is a science museum in California.
SciCentral: SciCentral is a science news aggregator. You’ll find links to free, high-quality news stories and sites.
LiveScience: LiveScience provides a collection of science-related videos and articles. LiveScience is a service of Imaginova.
TimeLineScience: TimeLineScience is a collection of historical information about science from 1000-2000 A.D. “The timeline provides a way of exploring this change in our way of understanding the world.”
SimScience: SimScience provides computer simulations in the areas of membranes, fluid flow, cracking dams, and crackling noise. Choose the “advanced” content.
Ask the Experts at Scientific American: This site is a collection of scientific questions answered by scientists. You can ask a question, but it won’t necessarily be answered. Search or browse questions asked by others.
Science.gov: “Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.”
Science Tracer Bullets Online: This is a collection of research guides on scientific topics from the Library of Congress. You’ll find summaries and scope, lists of resources, and suggestions for further reading.
Style and Citation Guides
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association : Perm. Reserve (Burling & Kistle) BF76.7 .P83 2001. A brief online guide is available from The University of California, Berkeley Library.
MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing / Joseph Gibaldi : Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998 (this style guide is used frequently in the humanities) A brief online guide is available from The University of California, Berkeley Library
Chicago Manual of Style : Perm Reserve Z253.U69 2003. A brief online guide is available from The University of California, Berkeley Library
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University
Libraries
RefWorks: A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.
Need Help?
|