Jump to contentGrinnell College Libraries Grinnell Logo

Starting Research: Russian

 

 

In this Guide:

Databases and Indexes

Current Events
Library Catalogs

Reference Resources

Selected Web Sites

Style and Citation Guides

Resources at Grinnell

 

NEED HELP?

Rebecca Stuhr

Consulting Librarian for Russian

stuhrr @ grinnell. edu

x3674

 

Library Labs

Research Tips and Strategies

 

 

Visit the Russian Department at Grinnell College

 

Databases and Indexes

 

Tips for finding articles and books and media

Searching in languages other than English

Many databases provide abstracts in English and will also translate titles from the original language into English--this allows you to conduct your search in English even if you are looking for material in another language. However, it is possible to search in the actual language of the material although this is more complicated in languages that require transliteration. If you are looking for a translation in our catalog, search for it using the title in the original language. The MLA Bibliography (below) uses English subject headings. If a literary work is the subject of the article, book chapter, or book that is being indexed, the title, in the original language, and the author of that work will always be included in the subject headings.

MLA Bibliography-the premier source for finding the secondary literature on modern literatures, languages, and folklore. (Included in Literature Resource Center)

 

Arts and Humanities Citation Index--good international coverage of the journal literature in the arts. You can also search by "cited author." Ask a librarian for assistance.

 

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies --created at the University of Illinois, this database covers most topics related to Slavic and Eastarn European countries. (Also available in print: Z2483 .A65)

 

Historical Abstracts-Covers world history after 1450, except for the U.S. and Canada. Includes articles, books, collections, and dissertations from over 2,000 journals. For the U.S. and Canada search America: History and Life. These two databases can be searched together.

 

European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies--indexes European publications on East-Central and Eastern Europe, Russia and the former Soviet Union; Commonwealth of Independent States (also available in print: Z2483 .E94)

 

Humanities International Index-Covers journals as well as books and reference sources in the humanities.

 

Project Muse and JSTOR provides access to the full text of a large number of journals in the social sciences, humanities. Literature and history are included in these collections but you will find even more citations to articles in even more literature and history journals by searching the MLA Bibliography and Historictal Abstracts.

 

 

Additional Databases and Indexes

 

[back to the top]

 

News and Current Events:

 

Lexis-Nexis-major newspapers

Access World News --US and International News papers

Yahoo Po-Russki

Yahoo! News Directory--Links to online newspapers by country

Transitions Online - An independent, online news source from the Czech Republic.

Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty

Yale University's List of Slavic and East European News Sources

 

Additional Databases and Indexes

[back to the top]

 

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries: books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more

 

WorldCat-This is the library catalog of library catalogs. s catalog.Use this to find material at libraries around the world including books in most languages, recordings, visual material, music scores, archival material, newspapers, journals--almost anything except journal articles.

 

Center for Research Libraries: A wide ranging collection of hard to find materials. More information.

 

More library catalogs

[back to the top]


Reference Resources

Library of Congress classification for Russian and other Slavic literatures = PG and history is DK.

Major Sets

Contemporary Authors (online only)--see description of Literature Resource Center below. Search authors by time period, nation of origin, ethnicity, and name.

 

Literature Resource Center-This ollection of resources includes the MLA Bibliography, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and more. Authors can be searched by selecting nation of origin, ethnicity, language, gender (and of course by name)

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography (print and online-selective)

Reference collection: PS 21 .D5x (volume no.) The last volume of the series includes a complete index.

 

Early modern Russian writers : late-seventeenth and eighteenth centuries v. 150

Russian Literature in the Age of Pushkin and Gogol. Prose v. 198; Poetry and Drama v. 205

Russian Literature in the Age of Realism v. 277

Russian Novelists in the Age of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky v. 238

Russian Prose Writers between the World Wars v. 272

Russian Prose Writers after World War II v.302

Russian Writers since 1980 v. 285

Russian Writers of the Silver Age, 1890-1925 v. 295

Twentieth-Century Russian Emigre Writers v. 317

The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center.

Contemporary Literary Criticism (print and online--selective)--The print edition (232+ vol.) is in the reference collection: PN771 .C59

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (print and online-selective)-The print edition (178+ volumes) is in the reference colleciton: PN761 .N56

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (print and online-selective)-The print edition (185+ volumes) is in the reference collection: PN771 .G27

The three literary criticism sets collect reviews and criticism of authors and works. The online versions are selectively available through Literature Resource Center.

Additional research material in Burling

 

[back to the top]

Web Sites

Grinnell College's Russian Department's link to Fun Russian Sites

 

San Diego State University's one stop: Russian and Slavic Web Resources
includes the following categories: comprehensive, archives, ejournals, linguistics and literatures, newsgroups, professional organizations, and programs and Institutes. Some restricted material.

[back to the top]

Style and Citation Guides

Style Guides from the University of California-Berkeley Library including MLA and Chicago/Turabian.
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University Libraries
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998
RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.

 

[back to the top]

Resources at Grinnell

Grinnell Writing Lab
Russian Department

 

[back to the top]


Need Help?

Rebecca Stuhr. x3674

Consulting Librarian for Russian.

Grinnell College Libraries. June 2007

 

Library Labs

Research Tips and Strategies

Libstaff Log-In