Starting Research: Political Science
Basic resources for starting research in Political Science.
Databases and Indexes
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: (1975-present) Abstracts and indexing of the international serials literature in
political science and related fields, including international
relations, law, public policy, and public administration.
PAIS International (1972-present) and PAIS Archive (1915-1976) (Public Affairs Information Service): Covers public affairs, public and social policies, international relations. global public policy and social issues. Indexing of articles, books, hearings, reports, government publications, and internet resources from 120 countries.
Social Sciences Abstracts (1983-present) Abstracts of articles from over 550 sources in the social sciences.
Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, biographies, and book
reviews on anthropology, political science, economics, psychology,
geography, and sociology. Materials from 1974-1993 may be searched in the paper Social Sciences Index and materials from 1965-1974 may be searched in the paper Social Sciences & Humanities Index (request either from offsite storage).
Academic Search Premier: (dates vary by publication) An extensive multi-disciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.
Library Catalogs
Grinnell College Libraries: Burling Library, Kistle Science Library and beyond.
WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat
are available through interlibrary loan.
Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic
delivery.
Reference Sources
CQ Voting and Elections Collection A collection of research tools that covers a host of information about
voting in America both past and present. Covers political parties,
campaigns and elections, and demographic information about voters.
Political Handbook of Africa Ref JQ1875 .P63
Political Handbook of Asia Ref JQ24 .P65
Political Handbook of Europe Ref JN12 .P584
Political Handbook of the Middle East Ref JQ1758.A58 P65
Updated yearly. Information on the governments and political parties within each country and on the intergovernmental organizations operating within each region. All shelved in Burling Reference.
Search the library catalog for additional reference sources by limiting Location to Reference.
Style and Citation Guides
List of style guides and information on citing sources from Grinnell College Libraries
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University
Libraries
RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.
Resources at Grinnell
Department of Political Science
Global Development Studies Concentration
Related Research Guides
Starting Research: Economics
Need Help?
|