RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature --the comprehensive database to the music literature. Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews and more. Particularly strong for classical music. For popular music publications see
Academic Search Premier --indexing publications like Billboard, Rollingstone, Downbeat, and more.
Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online expands Grove Music Online and comprises the full
text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The
New Grove Dictionary of Opera,
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford
Companion to Music.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index--good international coverage of the journal literature in the arts. You can also search by "cited author." Ask a librarian for assistance.
Historical
Abstracts-Covers world history after 1450, except
for the U.S. and Canada. Includes articles, books, collections,
and dissertations from over 2,000 journals. For the U.S.
and Canada search America: History and Life.
These two databases can be searched together.
Humanities International Index-Covers journals as well
as books and reference sources in the humanities.
Naxos Music Library --streamed access to hundreds of classical, world music, and new age recordings.
Project Muse
and JSTOR
provides access to the full text of a large number of
journals in the social sciences, humanities. Literature
and history are included in these collections but you
will find even more citations to articles in even more
literature and history journals by searching the RILM and Historictal
Abstracts.
Additional Databases
and Indexes