Additional Web Resources: GLBTQ
Legal, civil and human rights:
American Civil Liberties Union Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual,
Transgendered Project: is a project that fights descrimination and shapes public opinion on GLBTQ rights through the courts,
legislatures and public education. The site profiles current cases, news items, and a resources section with a collection of
podcasts, videos, online resources, and printed materials.
The Human Rights Campaign (HRC): founded in 1980, HRC is the largest GLBTQ
civil rights organization in the United States. The focus of the organization is to ensure equality for GLBTQ people through political
action and educational outreach.
International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission (IGLHRC): a
U.S. -based nonprofit, nongovernmental organization, the mission of IGLHRC is to secure the human rights of all people impacted by
discrimination or abuse on the basis of sexual orientation or expression, gender identity or expression, and/or HIV status. The Web
site contains publications and resources that compile and record evidence of human rights violations, as well as fact sheets and
position papers that summarize information related to the human rights of sexual and gender minorities worldwide..
International Lesbian and Gay Association (ILGA): an
"international non-profit and non-governmental community-based federation" has been in existence since 1978. This site includes
infomation about GKBTQ legislation by country. The Web site is accessible in four languages.
Lambda Legal: has been working towards full equality for the GLBTQ
community and people with HIV for years on both federal and state levels. The Web site includes information on significant court cases,
etc. and a Cooperating Attorneys Network.
National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE):is a nonprofit organization
founded in 2003 by transgender activists to advocate and educate on issues of importance to transgender people.
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force: is one of the oldest GLBTQ civil rights
organizations. The Web site contains reports, issue maps, and fact sheets on a variety of issues as well as ways to mobilize
activism.
Education and family:
Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN): is the leading national
education organization focused on ensuring safe schools for all students. The organization has conducted several studies and the
results are available on the Web site.
OUTProud: is the portal for the National Organization of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual
and Transgender Youth provides resources of interest to GLBTQ youth. Includes an online magazine and discussion forum.
Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG): provides up-todate
information on programs, tools for change, resources, conference information, and guidance for individuals and chapters.
Arts and Media:
Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD): promotes fair, accurate,
and inclusive representation of people and events in the media.
In the Life: produces documentary stories for the GLBTQ communities.
Logo: is the virtual presence of Logo, a lesbian and gay network from MTV Networks.
Logo features stories, shows, and news as well as a gay and lesbian travel site and a music section.
Queer Arts Resource (QAR): is a Web site to expand the range and depth of
knowledge about contemporary and historical queer art. Includes current and archived online galleries.
The Advocate : the Web version of The Advocate includes up-to-date news and links
to other Web sites for travel, news, etc.
here!: this is a resource that YOU PAY FOR. It offers on-demand television
targeting gay and lesbian viewers as well as podcasts, video downloads, blogs, and music.
Reference and Theory:
glbtq: Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture: an
online encyclopedia that includes bibliographies and a discussion board.
Queertheory.com: is a subject guide to a vast range of queer, GLBTQ, and
gender resources related to academics, culture theory, the body culture, music, literature, and related fields. Includes reviews and
links to other sites.
Archives and Collections:
ACT UP Oral History Project: a collection of interviews with
surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power in New York. A transcript of each interview is available in PDF as well
as streaming video excerps of each interview.
Duke University Libraries' Sallie
Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture: Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection: includes historical information on lesbian pulp
fiction and prominent authors, a complete listing of the collections holdings, and additional readings section for materials that
provid an introduction to the historical context.
The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society (GLBTHS):
focuses on the collection, preservation, exhibition, and accessibility of cultural, historical and artistic materials that are a
part of GLBTQ communities. The archives represent one of the largest collections of primary resource materials chronicling GLBTQ history.
ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives: affiliated with the University of Southern
California, the Archives houses the world's largest research library on GKBTQ heritage and concerns.
Society of American Archivists' Lesbian and Gay Archives
Roundtable (LAGAR): the Projects and Publication area includes archives of "Archival InQueeries" and the "Lavender Lagacies Guide" to
resources in North America.
Need Help?
|