Jump to contentGrinnell College Libraries Grinnell Logo

Starting Research: Economics

Basic resources for starting research in Economics

In this Guide:

Databases and Indexes

Library Catalogs

Reference Sources

Selected Web Sites

Meta Web Sites

Style and Citation Guides

Resources at Grinnell

Related Research Guides

Need Help?

Kevin Engel

Consulting Librarian for Economics
engelk@grinnell.edu
(641) 269-4234

 

How about a Library Lab?

Research Tips and Strategies

Databases and Indexes for Economics Articles (Literature)

To search for economics data, see the page below.

 

EconLit: (1969-present) Citations for journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics from hundreds of sources. The first dataabase you should go to for economics-related research.

Academic Search Premier: (dates vary by publication) An extensive multi-disciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Journal of Economic Literature (1969-2 years ago online, last 2 years in print) Indexing and abstracts of economic literature, including journal articles and book reviews. For earlier articles (1963-1968) , search the Journal of Economic Abstracts.

Additional Databases and Indexes

[Back to top]

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries: Resources in Burling Library, Kistle Science Library and beyond.

WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat are available through interlibrary loan.

Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.

Additional Library Catalogs

[Back to top]

Reference Sources

The new Palgrave: a dictionary of economics Burling Ref  HB61 .N49 1987 (4 volumes)

The new Palgrave dictionary of economics and the law
Burling Ref  K487 .E3 N48 1998  (3 volumes)

Search the library catalog for additional reference sources by limiting Location to Reference.

National Accounts data (from U. N.?)

 

[Back to top]

Selected Web Sites

Federal Reserve Board: Banking Information and Regulation (heading: Finance data)

Federal Reserve Board (heading: Finance data) (root site of above)

International Trade Administration International trade policy and statistics

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices (Historical, 1993-2001) Intended to provide a single, comparative analysis of the economic policies and trade practices of countries with which the United States has significant economic or trade relationships, these reports were abolished by Congress in 2002.

United States Bureau of Economic, Energy, and Business Affairs: United States foreign economic policy.

U.S. Dept. of Commerce Bureau of Economic Analysis

U. S. Department of Commerce: Get details about importing and exporting of specific goods. Statistics available by state and products.

EDGAR: SEC Filings and Forms. This database provides indexing and access to all forms which companies and others are required by law to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Federal Reserve Banks Links to the twelve regional Federal Reserve Banks. Many of the Feds have their own resources for research, including FRED at the St. Louis Fed.

Economic Research at the Federal Bank of St. Louis

Economic Report of the President

White House Office of Management and Budget

Office of the U.S. Trade Representative: Document Library Press releases, fact sheets, reports, and publications.

Meta Web Sites

Resources for Economics (RFE) collections of links to other economics website - up-to-date and well-designed.

Style and Citation Guides

Citing Sources Examples of how to cite sources within your paper and in a works cited list / bibliography for many different citation styles. From Duke University Libraries.

Guides to citing sources and creating bibliographies Links to resources for many different styles.

RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.

 

[Back to top]

Resources at Grinnell

Department of Economics

Related Research Guides

Starting Research: Political Science

Need Help?

Content last updated on Dec. 12, 2007.

[Back to top]

Libstaff Log-In