Starting Research: Dance
Basic resources for starting research in Dance.
Databases and Indexes
TIP: Save time by searching the EBSCO databases together by using the "Choose Databases" tab before entering your search terms. Ask a Librarian for help!
Academic Search Premier: (EBSCO) The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,650 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for all the journals in the collection. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSCO) Good to use for dance in Eastern Europe, especially Russia, Poland, former Soviet Union. Draws from some important dance publications, with links to JSTOR full-text for older articles, and abstracts for newer articles, some of which are available in our print collection of journals.
Arts and Humanities Search (Also known as Arts and Humanities Citation Index)
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO)
JSTOR
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) Be sure to use if researching ballet, since access to Pointe, the international periodical focusing on working dancers, is available here. This database includes popular, general-interest publications, so investigate your sources if you are limited to scholarly publications.
Library Catalogs
Grinnell College's Dance resources will be found in Burling Library.
Grinnell College Libraries: Burling Library and Kistle Science Library.
WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat
are available through interlibrary loan.
Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic
delivery.
Reference Sources
Dance reference can be found in the regular reference collection of Burling Library.
Library of Congress classification for dance falls into:
- GV1580-1799.4 for dancing
- GV1782 for choreography
- GV1587 for Dance Notation or Labanotation
Some general sources in Burling Referece for starting your research are:
International Encyclopedia of Dance: A Project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc.: (6 volumes) REF GV1585 .I586 1998
Most comprehensive, and rigorously edited.
International Dicionary of Modern Dance: REF GV1585 .B46 1998
Use this to supplement the International Encyclopedia.
The Dance Encyclopedia: REF GV1585 .C5 1967
This was standard source until publication of the International encyclopedia. Although it's older, it's still worth a look, especially for the wealth of black & white photographs.
Dictionary of Dance: Words, Terms, and Phrases: GV1585 .D52x 1996
If you need to know what a demi-plieŽ or a contra dance might be, this is the source you want!
Dance Words: REF GV1585 .P74x 1995 Much broader in scope, including administration, costume, sound, dance space, spectators, and dance research terminology, just to name a few areas covered in this ambitious compilation. Entries arranged in categories, with index of terms.
Dance on Camera: A Guide to Dance Films and Videos: REF GV1595 .D342 1998
Updated and revised edition of the Dance Films Association's Dance film and video guide 1991. Everything from dance education to folk dances to classical ballet to musicals are covered here. Indices give access from every angle, including choreographers and dancers. Also includes essays on choreography for film, and on filming dance!
SEE ALSO Bibliographies in the circulating collection:
A core collection in dance: Burling 1st Floor Z7514.D2 C685 2001
Research in dance : a guide to resources: Burling 1st Floor Z7514.D2 B6 1994
Print Journals of Interest
Journal of physical education, recreation & dance v.52 (1981) - current
Locations: Burling 4th floor East; and, Current Periodicals
Emphasis on dance and movement education.
Indexed in Education Abstracts database from May 1983 (Vol.54) to March 2008 (Vol. 79 No. 3)
Research quarterly for exercise and sport v.51 (1980)- current
Locations: Burling 4th floor East; and, Current Periodicals
Article topics include physiological and mental aspects of dance, as well as teaching.
Indexed in Education Abstracts database from June 1982 (Vol. 53) to December 2005 (Vol. 76. No. 4)
Selected Web Sites
Artslynx International Dance Resources http://www.artslynx.org/dance/index.htm
Excellent portal website designed to guide researchers, scholars, educators and students to the best-available web information in the most efficient manner!
New York Public Library http://www.nypl.org/
Search the Digital Collections for dance images, and access the Dance Collection and the Performing Arts Internet Resources pages. The Dance Collection is the world's largest research collection dedicated to documenting dance.
Congress on Research in Dance http://www.cordance.org/
Publisher of the Dance Research Journal and CORD Newsletter. USE the DANCE COMMUNITY tab to find additional web sites devoted to special areas of interest such as dance education, dance therapy, dance films, sacred dance, etc.
Library of Congress Performing Arts http://www.loc.gov/performingarts/
Search the Performing Arts Resource Guide OR for digital items also use the Performing Arts Encyclopedia search box.
Library of Congress American Memory: Performing Arts & Music Collections http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/vshtml/vsfilm.html
Select promising collections before trying your search words. See especially Variety Stage Motion Pictures.
Dance Heritage Coalition http://www.danceheritage.org/
Use ACCESS link. This website is a metasite for dance researchers, with tutorial, finding aids, and links to catalogs of major holdings of primary sources.
SEE ALSO Web sites http://www.dancefilmsassn.org/ and http://www.choreovideo.com/
Style and Citation Guides
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association : Perm. Reserve (Burling & Kistle) BF76.7 .P83 2001. A brief online guide is available from The University of California, Berkeley Library.
MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing / Joseph Gibaldi : Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998 (this style guide is used frequently in the humanities.) A brief online guide is available from The University of California, Berkeley Library
Chicago Manual of Style : Perm Reserve Z253.U69 2003. A brief online guide is available from The University of California, Berkeley Library
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper: Duke University
Libraries
RefWorks: A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more.
Need Help?
|