 |
Chemistry -- Information Strategy/Sources
Information Strategy -- a basic guide for tracking down relevant, high-quality information needed for papers, lab reports, discussions, and other purposes
1. Define ... a topic by gathering background/overview information; help formulate your question
Sources:
AccessScience (the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Yearbooks and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (in paper)
Reference Universe
Additional relevant encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other publications that may provide this type of information and are available locally can be located by searching the Library Catalog and then limiting by Location: Reference or Science Library Reference.
2. Identify ... specific sources of information about the defined topic--to answer your question
Databases (1 general/non-technical -- indepth/more scholarly 5):
1. LexisNexis (useful for coverage of newspapers and some popular magazines 1980's-present; use the Power Search)
To supplement the above database, try--
2. Academic Search Premier
For materials published prior to the beginning of the above database, try --
3. ACS Journals Search (the full text of articles from approximately 33 journals published by the American Chemical Society is available from the very first issues of the journals to the present)
To supplement the above database, try --
4. Chemical Abstracts
Two ways to access --
SciFinder Scholar (look for the SciFinder Scholar icon on the desktop of computers running Windows in the Kistle Science Library, the Chemistry Discussion Room, and other locations; SciFinder Scholar searches Chemical Abstracts, CASREACT, REGISTRY, and MEDLINE; unlike STN, SciFinder Scholar is available 24 hours per day)
STN
To supplement the above databases, try --
5. Science Citation Index (description; contact Science Librarian for use of this database)
Reference Sources:
3. Locate ... the publications identified above at Grinnell or elsewhere--get your information
4. Evaluate ... the validity, objectivity, and usefulness of the information
|
 |