Jump to contentGrinnell College Libraries Grinnell Logo

Starting Research: Anthropology

Basic resources for starting research in Anthropology.

In this Guide:

Databases and Indexes

Library Catalogs

Reference Sources

Selected Websites

Style and Citation Guides

Resources at Grinnell

Related Research Guides

Need Help?

Julia Bauder

Consulting Librarian for Anthropology

Bauderj@grinnell.edu

(641) 269-4431

 

How about a Library Lab?

Research Tips and Strategies

Databases and Indexes

Anthrosource (coverage varies by title, 1888-present): Searchable database of American Anthropological Association journals.

Anthropological Index Online: (1957-present) Indexes journal articles in physical anthropology, cultural anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.

Anthropological Literature: (1984-present) Indexes journal articles and edited works in archaeology, anthropology and linguistics, with primary emphasis on: archaeology, anthropology (biological & physical, cultural, and social), and linguistics. Also covers sociology, history, ethnohistory, demography, geography, international development, and human genetics.

Abstracts in Anthropology: (online: 2001-present, print: 1970-present) Indexing and abstracts of books, articles, and conference papers from several hundred journals, covering cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. For materials from 1970-2001, search the print version, shelved on Burling 4th floor East.

Academic Search Premier: (dates vary by publication) An extensive multi-disciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Additional Databases and Indexes

[Back to top]

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries: Burling Library, Kistle Science Library and beyond.

WorldCat: A huge catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries around the world. Most items in WorldCat are available through interlibrary loan.

Center for Research Libraries: Journals, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microform collections available through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.

Additional Library Catalogs

[Back to top]

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Anthropology: Burling Reference GN11 .E63 2006 (3 vols.)

History of Physical Anthropology: Burling Reference GN50.3 .H57 1997 (2 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries: Burling Reference CC100 .E54 2001 (3 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology: Burling Reference GN307 .E52 1996 (4 vols.)

Search the library catalog for additional reference sources by limiting Location to Reference.

 

[Back to top]

Selected Web Sites

American Anthropological Association Also check out their list of Anthropology Resources on the Internet.

Ethnographic Resources related to Folklore, Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, and the Humanities from the Folklife Center of the Library of Congress.

Style and Citation Guides

(AAA) American Anthropological Association Style Guide

List of style guides and information on citing sources from Grinnell College Libraries

RefWorks A web-based service that allows you to import citations, create bibliographies, and more. Sign up for an individual account and get started right away, or ask a librarian to show you how RefWorks works.

 

[Back to top]

Resources at Grinnell

Department of Anthropology

Related Research Guides

Starting Research: Biology

Need Help?

Content last updated on Nov. 19, 2007

[Back to top]

Libstaff Log-In